Partick Thistle's James Penrice says Celtic's Jeremie Frimpong went down easily

By David Walton

January 20, 2020

Partick Thistle’s James Penrice laughably told Jeremie Frimpong that he didn’t touch him after Saturday’s flashpoint.

Celtic made hard work fo their 2-1 win a Firhill at the weekend. Goals from Leigh Griffiths and Callum McGregor helped set-up a last-16 tie at Clyde, giving the Hoops a chance to exercise some demons from 2006.

But whilst Saturday’s result was a narrow win, it could’ve been more convincing had Alan Muir put his contacts in his eyes. Indeed, Partick were given the softest penalty you’ll see all season at the death to grab a consolation. Frimpong, however, should’ve had one himself when Penrice pushed him over.

Celtic full-back Jeremie Frimpong (Photo by Ian MacNicol/Getty Images)

Yet, reflecting on the decision, Penrice incredibly tried to claim that he didn’t touch our right-back. Speaking in the Herald, he had the following to say:

“I didn’t feel I touched Frimpong enough for him to go down. I think that’s why it hasn’t been given.

“He ran up beside me and said, ‘How is that not a penalty?’, and I said I never touched him. You get some and you don’t get some, but I don’t think I touched him.”

A clear push with no defence acceptable

You can never blame the defending players for getting away with a decision. It’s not as if they should go up to the referee and tell them they’ve got it wrong. However, when they try to act innocent despite their clear guilt, it can be a tad cringeworthy.

For Penrice to say that he didn’t touch Frimpong is pretty bewildering. Frimpong had darted past the Thistle defence at lightning speed. Any real form of contact was always going to bring him down with the pace he was going at.

The fact that it was a clear push was more than enough to bring Jeremie down. Just because it wasn’t a full-on barge into the back doesn’t mean it’s not a penalty.

Celtic’s Frimpong (Photo by Ian MacNicol/Getty Images)

Penrice has effectively knocked Frimpong off balance with an illegal move. If you push an opposing player in football, it’s a foul. That’s well known, so it’s incredible to think that Muir managed to miss it and that the Thistle player actually denies it.

Frimpong is right to feel aggrieved with the decision. It makes it all the more bitter considering the one Jeremie gave away in the second half.

In the end, it mattered little. Celtic progressed whilst Partick dropped out. It’s just a shame that Muir cost us from making the scoreline a little more emphatic.