Neil Lennon doesn’t appear worried about any potential retrospective action on Scott Brown, as he said his captain’s apparent stamp was “accidental”.

Brown was involved in one of the major flashpoints of Celtic’s 2-0 win at St Mirren last night. The Hoops skipper appeared to leave a bit on a St Mirren player in an accidental collision.

Here’s the footage of the incident from last night, posted by a Buddies fan on Twitter.

Subscribe

The initial impression when you look at the collision is that it seems accidental. Brown is stumbling around the place during the tussle and clearly tries to jump over the Saints man.

This doesn’t look like anything that’s going to be picked up by the SFA judicial panel. It surely has to be a lot more deliberate than what the Celtic skipper showed here.

And Lennon agrees with that verdict too. Speaking to BT Sport post-match, he said that Brown’s stamp was clearly not meant, but did hint at Duckens Nazon’s elbow on Kristoffer Ajer needing pulled up.

Subscribe to 67 Hail Hail TV now

“The Brown one I’ve just seen and it’s totally accidental. It’s not deliberate at all. It’s not like he’s raised his foot, it’s just on the follow through from the tackle.

“The elbow might be a bit different. But I’m not the referee, judge or jury. I’ll leave that for other people to decide.”

Expect a clamour

As mentioned before, it’s clearly not deliberate, but expect a clamour for action to be taken on Brown. After all, we’re still hot on the heels of three Rangers players being pulled up for taking things too far with the Celtic captain.

Scott Brown bossed things once again in Paisley (Ian MacNicol/Getty Images)

Rival supporters from the opposite side of the city will likely fill social media with the footage and cry conspiracy. No doubt they’ll also conveniently forget the fact it’s not meant by Brown.

Hopefully nothing comes of this, but Scotland’s judicial panel this season has been, quite simply, unpredictable. Even the smallest indiscretion could be pulled up, whilst the biggest can be let off. That’s just the way it’s seemed this year.

Lennon clearly isn’t too concerned by it, and neither he should. Once again, Brown did nothing wrong on the night, and certainly didn’t meaningly stamp on the Saints man. Hopefully, common sense can prevail in this instance.

Have something to tell us about this article?