Celtic captain Scott Brown was 100% correct to batten away a needless question on Alfredo Morelos at yesterday’s press conference.

The Hoops captain was on pre-match media duties for tonight’s clash at Tynecastle. Incredibly, however, a journalist saw it fit to ask him about Morelos’ red card.

Brown didn’t even let him finish the question before he let him know that he wouldn’t be answering it. Of course, typically, the journalist then finished the question anyway and asked Brown for his thoughts. Broony did extremely well to bite his tongue, however, and just laughed before moving on to the next question. You can watch it for yourself on Celtic’s YouTube page. The question comes around 4:20 into the video.

Subscribe to 67 Hail Hail TV now

Scott Brown had to deal with a needless Alfredo Morelos question yesterday (Ian MacNicol/Getty Images)

And there can be no debate about who was in the wrong here.

This was a pre-match press conference for the clash between Hearts and Celtic. At its core, this is about building up and previewing the game at Tynecastle. Sure, questions were always going to be asked about some side issues. That comes with the territory, but what on earth does Brown have to do with Morelos’ petulance?

 

Brown knew what the question was going to be, and so do the majority of us. It was a nod to the fact that Brown made a similar gesture to the Rangers fans back in March.

Want to join the discussion?

Join the 67 Hail Hail Forum now and have your say

Join the forum now >>

The forgotten rule

What seems to have been forgotten, however, is that Morelos wasn’t sent off for the gesture. He was sent off for the gesture and a high boot at Fir Park. It’s almost as if people want to forget that he was on a yellow card.

Alfredo Morelos’ petulant ways continues (Mark Runnacles/Getty Images)

Brown was charged for his actions at full-time back in March and was let off (Daily Record). Whilst there’s no denying it was the same gesture, the fact is that you can’t dish out second yellow cards at disciplinary hearings. That opens up a huge can of worms. After all, it’s not as if players get pulled up for not receiving yellow cards.

The beaks clearly decided that Brown didn’t do anything at Parkhead after that March derby that warranted a suspension in isolation. Morelos didn’t manage to get off because his sending off wasn’t in isolation, it was combined with his first yellow card.

Brown will look to fire Celtic five points clear at Tynecastle tonight (Michael Steele/Getty Images)

So Brown is spot on to beat away any questions about over-celebrating, or indeed any questions on Morelos and Rangers’ discipline problems in general. He’s the Celtic captain, and any excuse being used to tie him into the Morelos nonsense is just desperation at its finest.

It was great to see our on-field leader provide such a classy response to a needless question.

Have something to tell us about this article?