The wacky and wonderful world of the PFA Player of the Year awards was at it again last night, with an odd Team of the Year selection.

As we all know, Kristoffer Ajer was omitted from the Young Player of the Year awards. Instead, it was won by Rangers’ Ryan Kent. David Turnbull, Jake Hastie, and Lewis Ferguson were the other three nominees.

But it turns out Ajer wasn’t omitted completely. That’s because he made the PFA Team of the Year. Here’s a look at the team below:

Subscribe to 67 Hail Hail TV now


So Ajer joined fellow team-mates Dedryck Boyata, Scott Brown, Callum McGregor, and James Forrest in the side. It’s a nice achievement for the five Celts, all of whom have performed extremely well this season.

But it bodes one big question – why on earth was Ajer therefore not up for YPOTY?

Ajer in TOTY over YPOTY candidates

What makes this so bizarre is that Ferguson, Hastie, and Turnbull all aren’t anywhere to be seen in this side. So it’s crazy to believe that Ajer has been chosen above all three in a TOTY competition whilst being overlooked for the same trio regarding the YPOTY.

Want to join the discussion?

Join the 67 Hail Hail Forum now and have your say

Join the forum now >>

Kristoffer Ajer has been a colossus this season (David Young/Action Plus via Getty Images)

The argument will be that Ferguson, Hastie, and Turnbull all play in different positions to Ajer. But if Ajer is the top defender in Scottish football, just how can be left out for individual recognition?

Not many can argue with Kent winning the award. Taking rivalry out of the mix, he’s had a fine season at Ibrox and has proven to be a handful for opposition defences. But it’s the fact that Ajer didn’t even get enough votes to be considered that makes no sense.

Ajer has performed domestically and at European level (Richard Heathcote/Getty Images)

Thankfully, his own form this term has been recognised by Celtic as a club. Ajer took the YPOTY award at the official Celtic end of season awards. With the Football Writers’ Player of the Year awards still to come, hopefully, Ajer gets the recognition he deserves there.

But to be the best centre-back in the country and not even be up for an individual award for the PFA? Mind-boggling.

Have something to tell us about this article?