Potential Scottish FA trouble stirred up for Celtic captain Scott Brown; it'd be very silly

By John McGinley

October 27, 2020

The Daily Record have claimed Celtic captain Scott Brown could be cited by the Scottish FA for an alleged elbow on Aberdeen player Scott Wright during Sunday’s Scottish Premiership draw.

In a passage of play close to the end of the fixture, the Celtic captain was jockeying in anticipation of a throw-in.

His arm did extend, as it would in that situation, but Wright had run round the back of the Bhoys midfielder and collided with the arm, rather than the arm intentionally being smacked into his face.

Clips of the incident emerged on social media after the game, but in that clip, Sky Sports commentator Ian Crocker even says, “Scott Wright just took a whack in the face there accidentally from Scott Brown.”

You’ll note the key word in the sentence there.

Despite no action being taken by referee Willie Collum at the time, or any indication that the Scottish FA will take retrospective action, The Daily Record has highlighted the issue.

They reckon Brown faces a ‘suspension sweat’, reminding everyone that compliance officer Clare Whyte has until 3 pm today to cite the veteran.

The story has been given prominence in a side column on today’s print edition back page.

The SFA are not shy to dish out silly bans, see Ryan Christie on Alfredo Morelos earlier this year, but this would be an abysmal decision.

There is absolutely no malice in the incident at all, and I don’t recall Aberdeen even being annoyed about it at the time.

Celtic captain Scott Brown / (Photo by Mark Runnacles/Getty Images)

By highlighting the issue on social media, I think rival fans may be looking for a bit of drama here, where none really exists.

Though I guess we’ll find out later today.

In other news, Michael Stewart has reminded everyone Celtic are only two wins away from a quadruple treble, despite our recent problems.