Timothy Weah states why Willie Collum didn't book him

By David Walton

February 4, 2019

Timothy Weah’s celebration with the fans was similar to that of James Forrest’s yesterday, yet eagle-eyed viewers will have noticed one thing.

The American managed to escape a booking despite jumping in to celebrate with the Hoops supporters. Unfortunately, however, Forrest wasn’t so lucky.

The Scottish international was yellow carded after opening the scoring. Many would’ve simply believed that this was down to running into the fans.

Timothy Weah managed to avoid a booking after firing Celtic 2-0 up (Vagelis Georgariou/Action Plus via Getty Images)

Yet, Weah has explained why he avoided being pulled up after doubling Celtic’s advantage at McDiarmid Park. Speaking in the Daily Record, the American sensation gave a pretty ridiculous explanation.

Postecoglou hints at big week of Celtic announcements

“I bet James is wondering why I didn’t get booked. I noticed James had been booked for doing the same thing and I thought he was going to book me too but that’s life.

“The referee told me that he would have given me a yellow card but the fans didn’t fall over and told me to be careful the next time. It’s weird, because I thought the ref was coming over to give me a card but he said the fans didn’t fall over so I got away with it.”

Ridiculous on a new level

The rule about running into the fans and being booked for celebrating has always been a ridiculous one. But the fact that fans didn’t fall over meaning a yellow is avoided is ridiculous.

When players go towards supporters and celebrate, it should either be a yellow card or not. In truth, neither Weah or Forrest should’ve gotten booked for simply showing some passion and celebrating with the supporters.

James Forrest saw yellow for his celebration yesterday (Ian MacNicol/Getty Images)

In addition to that, how can players affect what fans choose to do whilst celebrating with them? To sum it up – players are therefore getting booked for the behaviour of other supporters. Despite it being outwith their power to control what’s going on in the stands.

It’s an incredible explanation from Collum, and a ridiculous rule. At least it clears up one of the biggest talking points from yesterday anyway.